The Australian Publishers Association has announced the shortlist for the 2019 Australian Book Industry Awards. From the shortlist, the Category Winners and the overall Book of the Year winner will be announced at the Australian Book Industry Awards night on Thursday 2 May.

The 2019 ABIA judging panel said it was difficult to create a shortlist in all 12 book categories, and that strong collaborations between publishers and authors were evident to produce quality books that were in competitive markets. The 2019 shortlist includes some of the biggest names in the Australian book industry, which alone sees over 7000 new books every year. Those shortlisted include Eggshell Skull by Bri Lee, Johnathan Thurston: The Autobiography by Johnathan Thurston, The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris, Any Ordinary Day by Leigh Sales and of course, Jessica Townsend’s Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow from the Nevermoor series.

Prior to the anticipated awards evening,  the Australian Publishers Association will announce three awards on Thursday 18 April. This include the Lloyd O’Neill Hall of Fame Award, which recognises outstanding service to the Australian Book Industry by an individual within its ranks; the Rising Star Award, which recognises emerging talent in the Australian publishing industry; and the Pixie O’Harris Award, which recognises consistent contribution to children’s literature.

This year’s ABIA Awards Night will be one to remember, with Australian music legend and best-selling author Paul Kelly set to perform. Presenting the awards on the evening will be some of Australia’s best authors, celebrities and political figures including Tom Keneally, Richard Flanagan and Leigh Sales.

Community members can find the 2019 shortlist here.

Readers also enjoyed this story about the Indie Book Awards.