QMusic has announced list of finalists and live performances for this year’s Queensland Music Awards taking place at the Brisbane Showgrounds on Tuesday 19 March.

More than 70 judges from across the country have selected a diverse group of finalists featuring emerging and established songwriters from the sunshine state including Emily Wurramara, Tia Gostelow, Sahara Beck, Cub Sport, Holiday Party, The Jungle Giants, San Mei, Amy Shark and many more. The annual party to celebrate Queensland music will feature performances by Amy Shark, DZ Deathrays, Clea, Emma Beau, Tokyo Twilight, with more to be announced.

Joining these artists are the nominees for the $10,000 Billy Thorpe Scholarship supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland. The 2019 finalists are Jaguar Jonze, Pool Shop, RIVAH and Sweater Curse.

Presented by Royal International Convention Centre, Brisbane Showgrounds, Hutchinson Builders, Mountain Goat Beer and Oztix, this year’s QMAs will be hosted by The GratesPatience Hodgson and comedian Mel Buttle who have honed a witty repartee, producing their popular podcast The Minutes.

Readers also enjoyed this story about the Australian Ballet joining with Emporium Hotel South Bank.