The nominations have been announced for the inaugural Ozflix Independent Film Awards (the “Ozzies”) which will take place on Saturday 7 April at The Alex Theatre in St Kilda, Melbourne.

The “Ozzies” is an annual national event that recognises the outstanding efforts of the skilled and talented practitioners who work within the film sector, whether on-screen or behind-the-scenes. It is presented by Ozflix and held to celebrate the achievements of independent Australian films, made for a budget of $5 million or less.

The independent film awards will be streamed around the world on Australian movie streaming service Ozflix.

Categories to be represented on the night will range from Best Film, Best Performance, Best Script, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Costume Design, Best Sound Design, Best Editing, Best Visual Effects, Best Score, Best Documentary and Best Webseries. Winners will walk home with Trophies, cash prizes, a $250 Ozflix online voucher, and an annual account subscription at Screenhub valued at $100.

A Special Jury Prize jointly sponsored by PTB Screen and Star Now will be awarded to an emerging performer who will win $1,000, along with a Life Achievement Award, to be sponsored by NFSA.

Some of the nominees include Blue, Sweet Country, Lazy Bones, Emo The Musical, The Colour Of Darkness, Shakespeare Republic, That’s Not Me, Hounds of Love, The Battle of Fire Support Base Coral, The Song Keepers, Skinford, The Butterfly Tree, Anna Samson and Luke Ford from What If It Works?, Ashleigh Cummings and Stephen Curry from Hounds of Love, Hayley McCarthy from Justice Lease, Miranda O’Hare from Indigo Lake, Melissa George from The Butterfly Tree, Hamilton Morris and Bryan Brown from Sweet Country, and Mark Coles Smith and Malcolm Kennard from Pawno.

Readers also enjoy reading this story about Ozflix Film Awards.